Awards And Recognition

For three decades the EOYDC outreach, education, creative, and career programs have a tremendous impact on the communities where we live and work. We are proud of our efforts, and the recognition we receive reinforces that EOYDC is moving forward!


1983 98th Congress First Session Congressional Record-Outstanding Organization

1984 White House Award Social Responsibility–The Company (Awarded for creation of a national model for , EOYDC)

1986 South Berkeley YMCA-Community Service/Role Model Award

1988 National Forum for Black Public Administrators Oakland/SF Bay Area Chapter-Community Service Award

1989 United Way-Recognition Award


1992 Chevron USA and The Management Center-Award for Excellence Winner

1992 United to Serve America Foundation-Outstanding Service to American Youth

1995 Oakland Chamber of Commerce Oakland Business Art-Award for the Performing Arts Program

1996 Essence Magazine feature-Career Watch

1997 Junior Reserve Officer Training Course-Certificate of Meritorious Service

1997 Black Sports Hall of Fame The Earl Meneweather Award-Community Service

1998 Mayor Elihu Harris- Recognition for Mayor’s Read-A-Lot Program

1999 Midnight - Community Service Award

1998 KGO Channel 7-Profile in Excellence

1999 National Council of Negro Women-Community Leader Award


2000 Lady Knights Basketball Team-Outstanding Contribution to School Community

2001 Good Outreach Inc. “Who’s Making A Difference”

2004 100 Black -Community Service Award

2004 California State Automobile Association Black Employees Association-Community Service

2009 Governor’s Council On Physical Fitness & Sports Spotlight Award

2010 Wells Fargo Community Leader Spotlight Award

100 Black Men of the Bay Area Community Service Award

Bank of America Neighborhood Leader Award

2014 Eastbay Asian Local Development Corporation (EBALDC) Community Leader Award

2016 Northern California Community Loan Fund (NCCLF) Community Impact Award

2016 Marcom Gold Awards

2016 Bay Area’s Favorite Charities

2017 Hermes Gold Award

2017 Robert Woods Johnson Foundation Interdisciplinary Research Fellowship

2017 Marcom Gold Award for Report